The Discipline of Psychology has three distinct histories; Westville, Pietermaritzburg, and Durban. Today the Discipline is an amalgamation of these three departments, existing on two campuses (Howard College and Pietermaritzburg) and servicing courses on the Westville campus.

The vision of the Discipline of Psychology is to be a standard setting institution of excellence in emerging niche areas within socio-psychological scholarship, with a focus on African Psychology. The goal is to nurture and deliver excellence and innovation in knowledge production that addresses challenges in the national, regional, and international development agenda in relevant ways