School of Applied Human Sciences

SAHS Bursaries, Internships and Grants



Internship opportunities for unemployed graduates (12 Months Contract)

The Safety and Security, Sector Education Training Authority (SASSETA) in collaboration with the Public Protector South Africa (PPSA) would like to invite unemployed graduates to apply for internships opportunities at the Office of PPSA for 12 months. (Click here to view advert) PPSA Internship Advert


UKZN Doctoral Scholarship

(Click here to view advert) UKZN DOCTORAL SCHOLASHIP 2019



NIHSS issued two calls for proposals on 1 February 2019 – the Call for Working Groups Programme, as well as the Call for APP and BRICS Teaching and Research mobility grants. These Calls may be accessed at the following links below.

Both Calls will CLOSE ON 15 MARCH 2019.




(Click below to view attachments) : 


The OR Tambo Africa Research Chairs combine political, development and higher education objectives. They aim to honour a leading figure in the development of African unity; have a catalytic impact on the development of research infrastructure in recipient countries; and contribute to knowledge production and high end skills in alignment with African Union’s Agenda 2063 and Science, Technology and Innovation Strategy for Africa (STISA-2024). Through international and regional strategic partnerships, the Chairs will contribute to the development of long term mutually beneficial research collaborations on the continent.

Scope of the OR Tambo Africa Research Chairs Initiative

It is the intention to establish an initial ten (10) OR Tambo Africa Research Chairs restricted to 15 countries in the rest of the continent- Ethiopia, Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda, Senegal, Ghana, Cote d’Ivoire, Burkina Faso, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, and Botswana-, focused on research priorities identified by each host institution in conjunction with, especially the Science Granting Councils Initiative (SGCI) in sub-Saharan Africa and the African Research Universities Alliance (ARUA) countries, and in alignment with AU Agenda 2063 and STISA 2024. Gender, disciplinary and geographical spread will be underlying considerations in the awarding of a chair. At least 60% of the chairs shall be female holders, and up to 40% in the Humanities and Social Sciences. Each Chair will be applicable for one 5-year term in the first instance, with a possibility of renewal for up to two additional terms of five years each, subject to excellent performance and availability of funds.

Guiding Principles

The following principles will inform the awarding of the Research Chairs to a successful host institution:

  • The OR Tambo Africa Research Chairs Initiative is a strategic programme aimed at strengthening research and innovation capacities in public research-intensive universities in Africa, enhancing the training of a new generation of researchers and the further development of established researchers in all knowledge areas while responding to national priorities and strategies;
  • Research Chairs shall be held by an African research-intensive public university in partnership with other higher education and research institutions, or the private sector, in the country, region or outside Africa;
  • Public research-intensive universities in SGCI participating countries will bid for Research Chairs in an open and competitive process. A Research Chair will not be pre-allocated to an institution or SGCI participating country;
  • Each applicant public university must work with the SGC in their country to align their proposal to relevant research priorities, after which the application can be submitted to the NRF;
  • The university must have a suitable candidate identified before submitting an expression of interest;
  • The Chair holder will be expected to dedicate at least 80% of their time to conducting research, training postgraduates, and mentoring emerging researchers;
  • Research Chairs are tenable to established researchers who are recognised internationally as leaders in their respective fields, and have received substantial international recognition for their research contributions.

Opportunity for partnership with Public Research Intensive Universities in the Rest of Africa

Research Chairs will be awarded to public research-intensive universities in the rest of Africa that can host Research Chairs in their own right. South African universities with focus and track record working in Africa, who are prepared to contribute through human capital, sharing of laboratory space, exchange of post-docs, and/ or financially are encouraged to partner in the submission of institutional expressions of interest with counterpart universities in the 15 eligible countries.

Call Documents

Please find attached a summary document on the initiative. Please view all documents related to this initiative and call on: 

Should you require any further assistance, please contact any Research Office official listed below:

Ms Patricia Ngwenya Ext 3273 or email

Mr. Mlungisi Zondi Ext 8431 or email

Issued by the University Research Division